the innocence mission - befriended LP (Free U.S. shipping)

This limited edition LP version is available on Deep Purple colored vinyl and includes the previously unreleased bonus track “Words of My Brother.”  A free download of the album will be e-mailed to each LP buyer upon request.

For listeners of the innocence mission, the Lancaster, Pennsylvania trio are beyond a favorite band, more like a beloved companion, such is the intensity and fragility of their sound and vision, spearheaded by Karen Peris’ heartbreaking, breathtaking voice. Those fans include Sufjan Stevens and Sam Beam (Iron & Wine), who have both covered innocence mission songs, and in whose company the trio deserve to be bracketed.

Originally released on CD in 2003, befriended received high praise from NPR, Pitchfork, Paste and many others.  Befriended, is a haunting collection of 10 songs (plus a bonus track) that features the interplay of Don Peris’ gorgeously warm and shimmering electric guitars with Karen's transcendently lovely vocals and moving lyrics.

Sufjan Stevens calls the innocence mission “moving and profound,” adding, “What makes Karen Peris’ lyrics so remarkable is the economy of words, sensory language, concrete nouns – everyday objects take on tremendous meaning.” “For me it’s helpful to be able to see the song, if I can,” Karen says.

NPR Top 10 Albums of 2003

Befriended is a bucolic, nuanced bit of Sunday morning coffee-and-wistfulness, lovingly strummed acoustic guitars (augmented by the occasional organ line, sparingly applied upright bass, and light, flickering drums), rolling out time-tested chords with unwavering earnestness, revisiting the sweet, confessional early-70s folk of Joni Mitchell and the late-80s lilt of the Sundays and Cocteau Twins.” -Pitchfork

$20.98 includes shipping to U.S. addresses.  For shipping addresses outside the U.S. choose "International LP" for your shipping choice in the shopping cart.

* We ship all LPs in new, perfect condition.  Each LP is packed with 12" cardboard padding and placed in an LP specific cardboard mailer.  The postal service does occasionally bang up our boxes.  Though we take great care in packing your LPs, we cannot be responsible for damage that occurs in route to your address.  If you would like your vinyl to be taken out of it's jacket so seams are less likely to split in rough mail handling, please send us a reply, with that info, to your order confirmation e-mail.  If you would like to purchase insurance to cover any potential damage, hit us up at info(at) and we can quote that for you.  Mahalo.

1. Tomorrow On The Runway
2. When Mac Was Swimming
3. I Never Knew You From the Sun
4. Beautiful Change
5. Martha Avenue Love Song
6. One For Sorrow, Two For Joy
7. No Storms Come
8. Sweep Down Early
9. Walking Around
10. Look For Me As You Go By

11. Words of My Brother (bonus track)

$ 21.98